Academics
Art Program

Artist-in-Residence Program

Eric Fischl ’66 Artist-in-Residence Teaching Program

West Nottingham Academy is proud to be partnered with the New York Academy of Art and the renowned artist Eric Fischl for the Eric Fischl '66 Artist-in-Residence Teaching Program. Each fall, winter, and spring, a visiting graduate of the New York Academy of Art lives and works on campus, teaching classes and working on pieces to exhibit to our community. Students with a greater interest in art can apply for the Aspiring Artists Program, which guarantees one-on-one time with the Artist-in-Residence. This program not only gives students the benefit of working with professional artists, but allows them to witness the dedication that produces great works of contemporary art.

Spring 2019-20 Artist-in-Residence

Alonsa Guevara

 
Our present Artist-in-Residence is Alonsa Guevara. Alonsa’s artwork is inspired by the color and textures of nature and celebrates life through her exquisite oil paintings and pieces made from a variety of media. See more of her work at her website https://www.alonsaguevara.com/ or her Instagram account https://www.instagram.com/alonsaguevara/.



Biography

Alonsa Guevara is a Brooklyn based artist. She was born in Rancagua, Chile. Her paintings blur the lines between fantasy and reality while celebrating the connection between humankind and nature. A big part of her inspiration derives from her memories especially of her childhood spent living in the Ecuadorian rainforest with her family. 

Alonsa received her BFA from the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile in 2009 and moved to New York in 2011. She was awarded the Elizabeth Greenshields Grant in 2013 while being at the MFA Program of the New York Academy of Art, and after graduating, she received the Academy's Fellowship award 2015.

Alonsa's work has been published in Forbes Magazine, Time Out NYC Magazine, VICE and more, and has been shown internationally including countries like China, Mexico, Chile and many states inside the USA. Her most recent solo show was in May 2018 at Anna Zorina Gallery in NYC.
 

Artist in Residence to date:

2019-20

Spring - Alonsa Guevara http://www.alonsaguevara.com
Winter - Jiannan Wu http://www.jiannanwu.com
Fall - Jess Leo http://www.jessleo.com

2018-19

Spring - James Razko http://www.jamesrazko.com
Winter - Caleb Booth http://www.calebdowbooth.com
Fall - Emily Acheson-Adams http://www.emilyachesonadams.com

2017-18

Spring - Isabelle Garbani http://www.isabellegarbani.com 
Winter - Adam Lupton http://www.alupton.com
Fall - George Rue http://www.georgerue.com

2016-17

Spring - Jacob Hayes http://www.jacobahayes.com
Fall - Marcelo Daldoce http://www.mdaldoce.com 

2015-16

Spring - Megan Ewert http://www.megan-ewert.com
Winter - Mitchel Martinez http://www.mitchellmartinez.com
Fall - Alexis Hilliard http://www.alexishilliard.com

2014-15

Spring - Amanda Scuglia http://www.amandascuglia.com
Winter - Nicolas Holiber http://www.nicolasholiber.com
Fall - Zachary Brown http://www.zachbrownart.com

2013-14

Spring - Brittany Fields https://www.brittanyfields.com
Winter - William Bolton http://www.williamboltonart.com
Fall - Jacob Hicks http://www.jacobhicks.yolasite.com