Academics
Art Program

Artist-in-Residence Program

Eric Fischl ’66 Artist-in-Residence Teaching Program

West Nottingham Academy is proud to be partnered with the New York Academy of Art and the renowned artist Eric Fischl for the Eric Fischl '66 Artist-in-Residence Teaching Program. Each fall, winter, and spring, a visiting graduate of the New York Academy of Art lives and works on campus, teaching classes and working on pieces to exhibit to our community. Students with a greater interest in art can apply for the Aspiring Artists Program, which guarantees one-on-one time with the Artist-in-Residence. This program not only gives students the benefit of working with professional artists, but allows them to witness the dedication that produces great works of contemporary art.

Fall 2020-21 Artist-in-Residence

Darryl Babatunde Smith

Darryl Keith Babatunde Smith is our current Artist-in-Residence. Darryl's work is inspired by Greco-Roman mythology and art. He loves traditional 15th-century Renaissance materials and uses primarily silverpoint drawing and egg tempera painting in his work. See more of his work on his website https://www.dkbsart.com or on his Instagram page https://www.instagram.com/deltakappabetasigma.


Biography
Darryl Babatunde Smith is an artist based between Philadelphia and Brooklyn. He started making art as a way of interpreting languages after studying French, German, Latin and Ancient Greek. He uses his metalpoint and egg tempera works to immerse himself into the Greco-Roman world. 

He completed his BFA at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts and an MFA at the New York Academy of Art where he studied Drawing and Anatomy. Darryl's drawings have been featured in Fine Arts Connoisseur's website and in Artists on Art's digital magazine. His work has been exhibited in Philadelphia, PA; Hillsdale, MI; Reykjavík, Iceland; and New York City. In the past two years he has been awarded three residencies in Iceland, Italy, and Greece, where he created work inspired by the landscape and ancient artifacts. Recently his drawings have been exhibited in Assisi, Italy and Athens, Greece.

Artist in Residence to date:

2020-21

Fall - Darryl Babatunde Smith https://www.dkbsart.com/

2019-20

Spring - Alonsa Guevara http://www.alonsaguevara.com
Winter - Jiannan Wu http://www.jiannanwu.com
Fall - Jess Leo http://www.jessleo.com

2018-19

Spring - James Razko http://www.jamesrazko.com
Winter - Caleb Booth http://www.calebdowbooth.com
Fall - Emily Acheson-Adams http://www.emilyachesonadams.com

2017-18

Spring - Isabelle Garbani http://www.isabellegarbani.com 
Winter - Adam Lupton http://www.alupton.com
Fall - George Rue http://www.georgerue.com

2016-17

Spring - Jacob Hayes http://www.jacobahayes.com
Fall - Marcelo Daldoce http://www.mdaldoce.com 

2015-16

Spring - Megan Ewert http://www.megan-ewert.com
Winter - Mitchel Martinez http://www.mitchellmartinez.com
Fall - Alexis Hilliard http://www.alexishilliard.com

2014-15

Spring - Amanda Scuglia http://www.amandascuglia.com
Winter - Nicolas Holiber http://www.nicolasholiber.com
Fall - Zachary Brown http://www.zachbrownart.com

2013-14

Spring - Brittany Fields https://www.brittanyfields.com
Winter - William Bolton http://www.williamboltonart.com
Fall - Jacob Hicks http://www.jacobhicks.yolasite.com